One Year.

On August 3rd of last year S&P Downgraded the United States Credit Rating from AAA to AA+. Our national Debt at the time of the downgrade was about 14,300,000,000,000. That’s fourteen trillion three hundred billion dollars.

In the Year since the downgrade Congress has been playing the ‘symbolic’ vote game. Democrats passing legislation in the Senate they know is D.O.A. in the House, and the House passing legislation they know is D.O.A. in the Senate. Meanwhile both sides are yelling at the American people that they have the right Idea for reducing the national debt and lowering unemployment which actually rose to 8.3% in July.

I’ll say that when I write these I do so on the fly, I don’t just write it all at one time. While I was writing this I wanted to check and see how much the ‘do nothing’ congress had, well. Done. The numbers shocked me.

Since Speaker Boehner’s 112th congress has been in office a total of 4,288 bills have been introduced. The total number Signed into law by President Obama.. 54. You know, I wish I could be making this up. The numbers are online, look them up if you want to check my math. But what this means is that only 1.3% of the bills introduced in Congress have become law. I would cry if I wasn’t laughing so much because I can’t believe congress has a worse grade than I did in Math last year.

Also in this time of legislative stagnation the national debt has been going up and up and up. As of this morning August 3, 2012, the United States National Debt is 15,914,379,026,410.36 (yes I’m going to write it out) fifteen trillion nine hundred and fourteen billion three hundred and seventy nine million twenty six thousand four hundred and ten dollars and thirty six cents.

I had every intention of doing some math for you guys but unfortunately my calculator wont count up to the numbers I need. Again, I wish I could make this up.

Just to clarify the above was not I repeat NOT a rant. However, the following is:

It is appalling to believe that we have elected members of the highest authority to represent the American people and our interests and they can pass less than 100 laws over a two year span. Polarization among the political party’s is at a high not seen since the Civil War. 54 total laws passed and signed, meanwhile the number of times  the house has passed a repeal of President Obama’s health care law over 30. The definition of Insanity is repeating the same event and expecting a different outcome. I don’t know, just putting it out there.

My message to Congress and our President: Get. The. Job. Done. Or you’ll find yourself standing next to some very unhappy constituents in the unemployment line.

Leave a Reply

